Austria first opened its land borders with Germany, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary and the Czech Republic on June 4.

The country reopened its border with Italy from June 16, but a travel warning was issued for the region of Lombardy.

There are no restrictions with most European Union countries except for travellers from the UK, Sweden, and Portugal who must still present a medical certificate or self-isolate.

Due to a high number of cases, travellers from the Gütersloh district in Germany will need a negative COVID-19 test (administered in the last 48 hours) to travel to Austria.

Entry by air is prohibited to citizens coming from countries outside the Schengen Area.